The Awesome Job of a Golf Course Greenskeeper

Robbie Newport
6 min readDec 27, 2022

Does anyone else dream of being a greenskeeper?

Meadows Golf Course/author

Rolling around in a golf cart, buggy, mower, three-wheeler, utility cart, or tractor under the sunshine with the wind blowing on my face, thinking it doesn’t get any better than this.

Simply being around a golf course is like being home for me. This is partly the reason why I’ve always dreamed of being a golf course greenskeeper. My first dream job was to be a professional golfer, but this requires being exceptionally good at golf — something I’ve yet to accomplish.

Despite being an 11 handicap after nearly 30 years of trying to break the par code, I did finally accomplish my dream of being a greenskeeper.

Seeds of a Dream

Like other young and ambitious Americans, I started off my college years working toward a respectable career, specifically for me, being a secondary education history teacher. I was interested in history, liked to teach, and the pay was good.

While working toward my Associate degree at a community college I took a career development course. During this course, the teacher asked us to write a list of the careers or jobs we wanted to do. A what do you want to do when you grow up question.

--

--